We tried to make things as simple and clear as possible, but we also realize that people will find unique ways of looking at our rules or game construction. So for those extra-creative people we have created this FAQ page. If you send us your questions, we'll answer them here.

Click here to send a question about Pit Fighter to the creator.


1. Can Armor stop immediate damage (such as a Grenade, Fire Trap, Lightning Blast, etc.)?

No. Immediate damage (as indicated by the burst symbol) cannot be increased or decreased by any normal means. It hits and resolves before there is the opportunity for any card play or use. See the Types of Damage box on Page 4 of the game rules.

Resistance, however, can affect damage taken, including immediate damage. In the Starter Game and first three Expansion Sets, only two instances of Resistance are found: Steel Grim's character ability of Frost Resistance and Mordol the Black's Epic Buckler. See question #3 for more on Resistances.

2. Can I play an Armor card as an instant use if I current have an Armor card equipped?

It depends on the body location noted for the Armor you have equipped and the Armor you are wanting to play as an instant use. Only one piece of Armor can be in play for any specific body location (see Armor keyword on Page 7 of the game rules.). Thus, if you have Chain Mail equipped (either ready or tilted), you can not play a Chain Mail, Leather Armor, Plate Mail, or any other Armor card that would occupy the same body location as an instant use.

3. How do Resistance and Vulnerability work?

Resistance or Vulnerability is applied after damage is rolled, but before exhaustion points are taken or gold is received. It does NOT remove or add damage dice before they are rolled. This mechanic makes Resistance and Vulnerability into variables, which is how we think they should work!

Examples include Steel Grim's Frost Resistance and Fire Vulnerability, and the Damage Resistance of Mordol the Black's Epic Buckler. (See the Errata page for these instances as well).

For instance, Steel triggers a Frost Trap which does 1d6 immediate Frost damage. The damage is rolled resulting in a 5. Steel then rolls his 1d6 for Frost Resistance, resulting in a 4. His roll brushes off all but one Exhaustion Point. He loses that point and his opponent receives gold for one point.

If Steel sets off a Fire Trap, he would roll an additional 1d6 of damage after the damage roll for the Trap and lose those additional Exhaustion Points because of his Vulnerability to Fire. His opponent would receive gold for the additional damage.

4. Can I use Bandages when I'm the defender?

No. Bandages cannot be used as the defender because they require a hand. Even when played as an instant use card, they must be used during your Attack Phase and as one of your two hand actions. (See the description and example under Attack Phase on Page 4 of the game rules.)

5. When can I play my Feint card?

As an Action card that doesn’t state a different phase for use, Feint is played during your Attack Phase (See section on Card Guidelines, Page 2 and the description of the Action keyword on Page 7 of the game rules.) That means that you have to already be in range of your opponent without having moved in your first Movement Phase. Your movement will then be restricted if you choose to move in your second Movement Phase. This is why it’s so cheap!

6. Is is possible to apply Whetstones to my fists?

There is nothing in the rules that restricts you from adding Whetstones to your fists. Yes, it’s strange, but let’s just say that you pick up the stone and bash the guy with it! See the Attack Phase description on Page 4 of the game rules for the reference to fighting with your fists.

7. Can I use play my Jump card against a Grenade (or other immediate damage)?

No. Each card resolves before the next one is played (Card Guidelines section, Page 2 of the game rules.) So for immediate damage cards, the damage is taken before the defender has an opportunity to play a card or apply Armor. If you play a Jump card during an attack that involves stack damage, and the Jump takes you out of range, the damage is not applied. This is because the damage has not been assigned yet and is still in the damage dice stack waiting to be rolled.

8. How do cards like High Winds and Missile Deflect work with the Throw Weapon card?

Even though your weapon was a Melee while it was in yours hands, it becomes a Missile when you use it with a Throw Weapon card. Therefore, cards that affect Missile attacks will be effective.

9.Once I've taken the damage from a Wall of Fire, will I take more if I just stay in it?

Yes. Yes you will. The question is when. If you have not moved out of the Wall of Fire by the end of the first Movement Phase of your next turn, you will take the damage again. This ensures that you cannot get additional Attack Phases without suffering the consequences of your position.

10. How do Just Barely and Lucky Hit cards work in conjunction with the Dodge card?

Lucky Hit and Just Barely resolve when they are played and therefore stay in effect. You may want to set the appropriate number of dice aside as a reminder of the minimum dice that must be in the stack once it is complete. This can make them quite powerful cards in certain situations, such as when damage reduction cards like Dodge and Whiff would have brought the damage dice stack to zero or below. That’s why they are more expensive. NOTE: Lucky Hit and Just Barely do not stack. The most that will be guaranteed to remain in the damage dice stack is 2d6.

Example: Your opponent has 3d6 in the damage dice stack and plays a Just Barely card, which adds 1d6 to the stack and states that the stack cannot be reduced to less than 1d6. You play a Dodge card next which removes all damage dice from the stack. 1d6 is put aside to remind the players that the stack must have at least 1d6 when it is complete. Your opponent plays a Firm Hit, adding 2d6 to the stack. Both players have now passed and the stack is complete. Since the stack has 2d6, the requirement of the Just Barely card is met and the1d6 set aside as a reminder is discarded .

11. If I've chosen Action Cards during the Arming for Battle step, do I have to pay for them when I play them?

Yes. And yes, you do NOT pay for Equipment Cards chosen during that step because they come into play equipped. It's so unfair!! Just think of it as a temporary gift to equalize the playing field a bit. Once that step is past, you've chosen your advantage and you're on your own!

12. If I play Bull Rush in my first Movement Phase, can I still choose to move in my second Movement Phase?

Yes. The rules say that you can only move in one of the two phases, not that you can only use one of them (see Movement Phase One description on Page 4 of the game rules.) You would forfeit the extra movement that Bull Rush gives by not moving in that phase, but if you don't move at all, you can still choose to move after your Attack Phase at your normal movement.

13. When can I play Counterspell?

It's just when the card says - in response to a Spell being cast and at anytime. Yes, this card is a rule-breaker and the classic, timeless example of card text taking precedence over rules. It does not matter if the Spell being cast is immediate or stack damage, or if it targets you, the caster, or another opponent.

14. Do all Equipment cards have to be assigned to a hand?

No. The guides on the left side of your character cards are there simply for a suggested play area layout. You do have to designate some Equipment, like Whetstone or Chain Weapon to other specific Equipment as stated on those cards, but there is not a mechanic in the game to govern what Equipment you hold in which hands. All Equipment cards that you have Equipped and are untilted are ready for your use.

15. Can I apply a Whetstone to a Grenade?

Yes, but it wouldn't be smart! Technically, a Whetstone can be applied to a Missile (which a Grenade is) and the Grenade card does not state that it can't have attachments. However, a Grenade does immediate damage and therefore, the +1d6 benefit from the Whetstone never has a chance to be applied. Remember that damage that displays a +/- or the dice symbol is stack damage.

16. Can I play Firm Hit (or any other card that increases stack damage) as the defender?

Yes, but why would you? Such cards increase the damage dice in the stack and there is only one stack in play - that of your opponent. So, you can add to it, but chances are that you will take that additional damage and your opponent will receive additional gold for it.

17. How do I use a Throw Weapon card? And can it work with my Dual Attack card?

The Thow Weapon card is the attack that is being made and uses an equipped Melee to do so. During that attack, the designated Melee becomes a Missile and is thrown into the target hex. A Dual Attack card grants you a separate second attack with the same Melee, but won't work here because that Melee is now a Missile.

18. How does the Dual Attack card work?

The Dual Attack is played during your normal attack with a 2H Melee. It does not affect anything during that attack, including the current damage dice stack. After the attack is fully resolved, you then get a second, separate attack using the same 2H Melee. That second attack is at -1d6. So, for example, if Grotas attacks with his +3d6 Heavy Flail and plays Dual Attack, his second attack starting damage will be +2d6.

19. What is the difference between attaching and equipping?

Not much. Two cards - Spiked Armor and Bracers - use the attach language and should have used equip language instead. Please see the entries for those cards on the Errata page for the correct description.